The board has adopted a staggered election cycle where half the parent representatives are elected every 18 months and sit for a 3 year term.

The next election will be held at the end of 2017

Board of Trustees

Rachel McKenlay(Chairman), Kay Martin,  Jeff Hayward, Nadine Tereora, Shellene Divall, Steve McLeod, Wendy Sandifer (Principal), Dana Smith (Teacher Representative)

The work of the Board of Trustees (BoT) is rather like the steel framing in a building. It doesn’t get much attention from the outside but is critical to the strength and vitality of the structure.

The members of the BoT work with the principal and school staff to implement the school’s charter and vision. They work to meet the school’s legal obligations by:

• Establishing and reviewing policy
• Supporting staff to ensure the effective delivery of the curriculum
• Being a good employer
• Administering the school’s finances and property
• Providing strategic plans to develop and improve the school as a whole over time.

The BoT monthly meetings are usually held on Monday evenings (week 3 and 8 of each term) and are listed in the newsletters. They are open to the public. For more information on being involved in the BoT, please contact the school’s office. 09 473 8603





Rachel McKenlay

Nadine Tereora

Jeff Hayward

Shellene Divall


Kay Martin


Steve McLeod



Mail or Deliver to the School Office :
The Chairperson
Board of Trustees
Torbay School
Deep Creek Rd
Torbay, Auckland 0630